Fly Fishing near Freeport? - 2CoolFishing
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise   |   Follow:

Go Back   2CoolFishing > Saltwater Fishing Forums > Flyfishing Forum

Old 10-07-2011, 10:29 PM
Registered Users-pm+

ahopkins321 is a Landlubber (+10 to -10)
Fly Fishing near Freeport?

I'm new to fly fishing and have only fly fished fresh water, and wanna give saltwater fly fishing a go.

Is there anywhere around freeport I can hit with the fly? Keep in mind I don't have a boat, kayak or 4 wheel drive. So would need to be car accessible. I was thinking the m.o.b. as long as its a relatively calm day would be alright, any info on that? Open to any suggestions.

Not planning on goin till the end of the month after I get a new fly outfit, which, any recommendations on a good saltwater fly setup? I think I wanna go 10w, and at or under about $500.

Thanks,

Andrew
Old 10-08-2011, 12:19 PM
Registered Users-pm+

silent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunnersilent speck has been promoted to the rank of Gunner
For your fly set up I wpuld go with a sage 1680 large arbor reel ($99) and the TFO TICRX ($250). I would also go with an 8wt unless you are planning on tackling anything bigger than redfish. As far as fishing goes, look on google earth and on the south side of swan lake there are 3 roads that deadend into the lake and you can walk in right there. I hjave caught ALOT of reds on the fly back there.

Good luck brother,
Barrett
Old 10-08-2011, 12:29 PM
Registered Users-pm+

Anyone have any experience with rip tide?