Why is my gas stove giving off yellow flame? - 2CoolFishing
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise   |   Follow:

Go Back   2CoolFishing > TTMB

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2010, 12:23 PM
Mantaray's Avatar
Mantaray Mantaray is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Aug 29 2004
Posts: 268
Rep Power: 684979
Mantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to Pirate
Why is my gas stove giving off yellow flame?

It's not normal. All of the 4 burners are giving off yellow too much yellow flame and little blue flame. It seems like gas supply is low. Anybody seen this before? Time to call Entex or Centerpoint?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #2  
Old 06-19-2010, 12:34 PM
bill's Avatar
bill bill is offline

 
Join Date: May 21 2004
Posts: 29,236
Rep Power: 21507882
bill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Piratebill has been promoted to Pirate
look to see if the holes are clogged, soot or other build up can cause a yellow flame
__________________


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-19-2010, 12:52 PM
Mantaray's Avatar
Mantaray Mantaray is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Aug 29 2004
Posts: 268
Rep Power: 684979
Mantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to PirateMantaray has been promoted to Pirate
Just called Centerpoint and they said it's my supply line to the stove that doesn't have enough pressure. They said it's dangerous to use the stove and that I should call someone to fix my line. I will probably pull my gas stove out and look but not sure if the line is easy to disconnect & clean.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-19-2010, 01:03 PM
dwilliams35's Avatar
dwilliams35 dwilliams35 is offline
Aspiring professional pot-stirrer.
 
Join Date: Oct 07 2006
Age: 49
Posts: 12,231
Rep Power: 21490008
dwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Piratedwilliams35 has been promoted to Pirate
Might want to check your other appliances: their regulators at the meter can go out too, actually goes out a lot more than they'll admit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-19-2010, 01:32 PM
BretE's Avatar
BretE BretE is offline
It ain't easy bein me.........
 
Join Date: Jan 24 2008
Location: Lake Jackson
Age: 54
Posts: 7,952
Rep Power: 21485255
BretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to PirateBretE has been promoted to Pirate
Take a pair of channel locks and beat the hell out of the regulator.........works at the plant!......lol...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-21-2010, 08:51 AM
Puma Puma is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jun 16 2009
Age: 52
Posts: 485
Rep Power: 2541042
Puma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to PiratePuma has been promoted to Pirate
Call your gas company as request a pressure test. They can put a gauge on it and see if you have the proper operating pressure on it.

Honestly, the answer they gave you is a BS one. Low pressure on the gas line should not cause a yellow flame. Just think, on a normal stove when you turn down the flame it doesn't get yellow. More than likely the problem is the stove needs cleaning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:46 AM
Barefoot Boy Barefoot Boy is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Sep 27 2005
Age: 60
Posts: 906
Rep Power: 7593623
Barefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to PirateBarefoot Boy has been promoted to Pirate
Sounds like it needs more air; either to the room, or there may be a burner adjustment to crack open for more air. If it just started doing this, it is probably the source (meter). Here's a link (it says run, if it turns yellow j/k).


http://www.appliance411.com/faq/gas_range_flames.shtml
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:52 AM
CHARLIE CHARLIE is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jun 02 2004
Age: 77
Posts: 14,515
Rep Power: 21493149
CHARLIE has disabled reputation
Puma

Turning down the flame on a stove doesent reduce the pressure just the volume of gas. Pressure stays the same. Ii would guess somehow the pressure became too low if it just started for no reason.

Charlie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:57 AM
jimk's Avatar
jimk jimk is offline
Wherever you are....BLOOM!
 
Join Date: May 27 2004
Location: Panna Maria(sometimes)
Age: 71
Posts: 4,712
Rep Power: 21483352
jimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Piratejimk has been promoted to Pirate
I don't know if this is a parallel....but I have an old kerosene stove from WWII that I pump to pressurize. If I'm not getting enough air, the flame is yellow...it has one jet and I generally replace it to get back to a blue flame.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:05 AM
troutslayer's Avatar
troutslayer troutslayer is offline
I'll keep my gun...You keep the change
 
Join Date: Feb 07 2006
Location: Old River
Age: 48
Posts: 9,027
Rep Power: 21487046
troutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Piratetroutslayer has been promoted to Pirate
Stoves require a certain amount of oxygen to burn clean....there is an opening in your burner that is clogged up and not letting the required amount in....pull the lid off and start cleaning....
Each stove burner's flame color can be adjusted separately. The air shutter adjustment needs to be opened more, which allows more air to mix with the fuel. The shutter is located at the end of the burner tube. Once the shutter is adjusted correctly and all lint or dust is removed, there should be no yellow flames.


Also clean out the air shutter area, clear out up the burner tube and all the burner head holes or ports so flames are present completely around the entire burner. Some burners have ignition holes up one side of the burner head. Usually three or four small holes are used for burner ignition. If these holes are plugged or restricted, burners become slow to ignite or do not ignite. Clean out the holes with a pin but do not enlarge the hole. Enlarging the ignition hole will cause other problems, which cannot be fixed without replacing the entire burner.



Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/stry/qna...#ixzz0rVJoNkE2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 2CoolFishing forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
copyright 2013
© 2008 Noreast Media, LLC | Terms of Service| Contact Us | Advertise