CMC jack plate repair shop - 2CoolFishing
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise   |   Follow:

Go Back   2CoolFishing > General Interest Forums > Boating Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2009, 06:01 PM
ichiban ichiban is offline
East Columbia, TX est. 1824
 
Join Date: Aug 13 2007
Age: 56
Posts: 185
Rep Power: 715019
ichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirate
CMC jack plate repair shop

I need some help! My jack plate went out last week and I miss it. No noise from relays, no movement from plate, stuck in lowered position. I live in the Angleton/Brazoria area and want to find a shop to fix it while I'm away. Somebody tell me a good shop in my area. Its gonna be a drag unloading my stuff and electronics, not looking forward to it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2009, 05:50 AM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Sep 09 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 60
Rep Power: 607076
Sarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to PirateSarge has been promoted to Pirate
Jack Plate

Sounds to me like your not getting any power to the relay's. It may just be the fuse. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:07 AM
gater's Avatar
gater gater is offline
Gater
 
Join Date: May 24 2004
Location: Tiki Island
Age: 53
Posts: 3,914
Rep Power: 21482498
gater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirategater has been promoted to Pirate
Ichiban

Hereis alink to the CMC site (FAQ) not sure if it will help. Gater
http://www.cook-mfg.net/faq.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2009, 07:28 AM
Sonnysmarine's Avatar
Sonnysmarine Sonnysmarine is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Mar 18 2007
Location: Port o'connor.Tx.
Age: 59
Posts: 1,684
Rep Power: 5625193
Sonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to PirateSonnysmarine has been promoted to Pirate
Check the curcuit breaker first , it has a reset button on the end of it, and push it, and try it.. You can jump around it temporary, with a screw driver, across the two post to test , Also look at the bottom of the relays and see if they are green with corrosion. Or use a volt meter across one side, the side with the copper post in power in and the stell post power out. If the relays are not clicking check the power, and ground first,, it does have a fuse on the purple wire to send power to the switch, check it. Might try these first before taking it in, a lot of times the curcuit breaker is tripped. Seldom is the fuese blown, but more lickely the fuse might have corrosion.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:28 PM
ichiban ichiban is offline
East Columbia, TX est. 1824
 
Join Date: Aug 13 2007
Age: 56
Posts: 185
Rep Power: 715019
ichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirateichiban has been promoted to Pirate
I played with it last nite with the cowling off, relays are clicking but I can't find the circuit breaker. Called the boat manufacturer to see where they hid it and they don't know. Its only a 5" setback, CMC claims you can work on it with the motor on, no room for me- they must use little people. I've volunteered to use it as a back up boat tomorrow for a buddy's test ride on his, after that I'll have to make a quick decision. b Thank all of you for your help, thanks for the PM on a mechanic.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2009, 07:42 PM
BlueWaveEd BlueWaveEd is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Jan 03 2007
Posts: 1,578
Rep Power: 7265297
BlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to PirateBlueWaveEd has been promoted to Pirate
When mine died, Relays worked but motor did not. I found a black and white wire going from the relay pack to the motor on the jack plate. There was a two pin connector that was corroded very badly. Cut the connector off asd soldered the wires. Works great now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2009, 08:44 PM
Capt.Schenk's Avatar
Capt.Schenk Capt.Schenk is offline
Registered Users-pm+
 
Join Date: Aug 10 2005
Age: 33
Posts: 403
Rep Power: 269115
Capt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of RiggerCapt.Schenk has been promoted to the rank of Rigger
The fuse or breaker will be just off the Perko switch. Check for it there. Also, you can touch white and black wires to the battery to see if it will move. Reverse wires to go opposite direction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
copyright 2013
© 2008 Noreast Media, LLC | Terms of Service| Contact Us | Advertise