Dipping into bait caster - 2CoolFishing
Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise   |   Follow:

Go Back   2CoolFishing > Saltwater Fishing Forums > General Fishing Discussion

Notices

Old 04-15-2017, 10:13 PM   #1
Sancroix
God Bless the fishermen

Sancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to PirateSancroix has been promoted to Pirate
Dipping into bait caster

So, I've been using spinning reels for over 40 years. Figured it was time to give bait casters a try. I bought a Shimano Casitas 151HG on discount at the FTU vendor sale about 10 days ago. You tube reviews on the reel are positive; with reviewers highlighting the reel's ease of casting and fast retrieve. About the only casting rod I have on hand is a Penn Legion LEGIN1017C70. It's listed as 7' long and Extra Fast action. I spooled it with 30lb FINS Windjammer line.

Like many reels it has two methods for controlling backlash: the brake weights and the spool tension knob. The reel's guide book says the weights can help with backlash on the beginning of the cast, and the spool tension can help at the end. Practice casting on my lawn with a 1/4 ounce weight tied on has me pulling out backlash on almost every cast; mostly occurring at the end of the cast. I realize the ground is causing a hard stop, and that is likely contributing, but from those who use these reels a lot I'd appreciate some insight on how to cast and not get all knotty.
Sancroix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2017, 11:15 PM   #2
4 Ever-Fish N
Registered Users-pm+